Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak today launched the first phase of Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) Kwasa Semantan, which became a milestone to the public transport system in the country.

Najib in his speech also announced the free rides for MRT and feeder buses from tomorrow until January 16, 2017.

The maiden route which involves 12 stations between Sungai Buloh and Semantan covers a distance of 21 kilometres will start tomorrow from 6am.

The route covers various stations including Sungai Buloh, Kampung Selamat; Kwasa Damansara, Kwasa Sentral, Kota Damansara, Surian, Mutiara Damansara, Bandar Utama, Taman Tun Dr Ismail, Phileo Damansara, Pusat Bandar Damansara and Semantan.

A total of 120 feeder buses will also be provided through 26 routes in and around the 12 stations.

Meanwhile the second phase, which covers a distance of 30 kilometres and involving 19 stations from Semantan to Kajang, is expected to be fully operational from July 31, 2017.

Also present to witness the launch at Kwasa Damansara MRT station here were Nepal's Deputy Prime Minister Krishna Bahadur Mahara, Chief Secretary to the Government and MRT Corp Chairman Tan Sri Dr Ali Hamsa, Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, Second Finance Minister Datuk Johari Abdul Ghani, Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) Chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar and MRT Corp Chief Executive Officer Datuk Seri Shahril Mokhtar.