The 12th Royal Langkawi International Regatta Championship begins Tuesday.

The first day of the tournament saw more than 30 yachts from 13 countries taking part in eight categories with the overall participation of 300 sailors .

Malaysia is represented by among others, the teams from the Royal Malaysian Navy, 'Uranus ' and ' Mercury ' in which both are now second and third position.

The first round was won by Australian Peter Ahern leading with three points.

Among the trophies up for grabs are the Prime Minister's Challenge Trophy, the Commodore's Challenge Cup, the Pepper - IRC Challenge, the Langkawi Sports Trophy and the Malaysian Multihull Challenge Cup.

A special trophy, the Tunku Abdullah Award has been set aside for the best team in the water and land Regatta 2014 for all classes.

Among the classes that are in competition are racing, white sail, IRC 1, IRC 2, sportboats, Multihull racing, cruising club and ocean rover.