Permodalan Nasional Bhd (PNB) has appointed Tan Sri Zarinah Anwar, Datuk Dr Awang Adek Hussin, Datuk Dr Mohd Yaakub Haji Johari and Soedirman Haji Aini as new members of the board of directors.

In a statement today, PNB said, the appointments were to replace board members who retired on Dec 31, 2016.

They were Tan Sri Datuk Amar Bujang Mohammed Bujang Mohammed Nor, Tan Sri Datuk Asmat Kamaluddin and Tan Sri Datuk Seri Ainum Mohamed Saaid, it said.

PNB said it has also appointed Professor Datuk Dr Noor Azlan Ghazali, Datuk Dr Nik Norzrul Thani Nik Hassan Thani and Datuk Dr Nik Ramlah Mahmood as members of the board of directors of Amanah Saham Nasional Bhd (ASNB).

The appointments were to replace Tan Sri Md. Desa Pachi, Tan Sri Dr Wan Mohd Zahid Mohd Noordin and Tan Sri Ainum Mohamed Saaid, who retired on Dec 31, 2016.

The new appointments would be effective once the processing of the documents was completed, it said.

PNB Chairman, Tan Sri Abdul Wahid Omar, said he welcomed the appointments of the new board members.

"Their extensive experience in various fields, including economics, finance and investment, will contribute significantly towards the continued success of PNB, where the groundwork has been earlier strengthened by the boards of PNB and ASNB," he said.

Abdul Wahid said their presence would help PNB achieve its vision to become a world-class investment company.

"On behalf of the board of directors and management of PNB and ASNB, I would like to thank the prvious members of the board of directors -- Tan Sri Datuk Amar Bujang, Tan Sri Datuk Asmat, Tan Sri Dato Seri Ainum, Tan Sri Md. Desa and Tan Sri Dr Wan Mohd. Zahid -- for their dedication and their contributions to the encouraging growth of PNB," he said. - BERNAMA